How to disable Google Drive Quick Access (tutorial)

If you logged into your Google Drive account recently, you might have noticed a new feature called Quick Access. Quick Access uses machine learning to predict documents you may want to access and displays them at the top of My Drive. This feature is meant to save time so that you don’t have to sift through various folders to find the file you want to view. However, this can become a problem if you have sensitive information that you don’t want others to view. If you use Google Drive to save work-related files, it may be in your best interest to disable Quick Access to prevent coworkers from accidentally seeing your personal files. Here’s how to disable Quick Access on your Google Drive.

Google Drive (Web)

  1. Click on the Settings icon located on the top right of My Drive.
  2. Click on Settings
  3. Scroll down to Quick Access and uncheck the box.

Google Drive (Mobile App)

  1. Tap the menu tab located on the top left corner.
  2. Tap Settings
  3. Tap Quick Access
  4. Tap the toggle to disable Quick Access

I would rather see Quick Access as a folder that you can open rather than documents displayed at the top. That way I can choose to open the Quick Access folder and still keep potential sensitive information private. Until then, I’ll be keeping my Quick Access disabled.

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: